West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition

Explore West Virginia's 64 local education agencies — the 55 county school systems, seven public charter schools, the WV Schools of Diversion & Transition and the WV Schools for the Deaf & the Blind — with original West Virginia Department of Education (WVDE), State Auditor, State Tax Department, federal Civil Rights Data Collection and NCES sources. Directory identities are from NCES 2024–25, joined to WVDE by WVDE's own district code; not a current operating-status certification. West Virginia's county boards of education levy the school property tax in three layers, from the State Auditor's levy tables for tax years 2016 to 2025: the regular levy, which the Legislature sets for every county (19.40¢ per $100 of assessed value on Class I property) and which is shown as the state rate, never compared across counties; the excess levy, approved by a majority of the county's voters for up to five years and capped at 22.95¢ on Class I; and any voter-approved bond levy. A rate is not a bill, and no bill is estimated. The line-item budget is the county board's proposed budget as reported to WVDE (WVEIS SF000001, fiscal years 2009 to 2027), labelled proposed, never spending; actual spending per pupil is WVDE's ESSA report (FY2022, FY2024 and FY2025). Salaries are WVDE's published average contracted salaries for teachers, principals and assistant principals with their FTE, and every county superintendent's salary and contract, one position each, named by its title; the certified list of personnel gives FTE and total wages by position, with no names. Students, WVGSA proficiency by grade and student group, and graduation come from ZoomWV; the share of students directly certified is not free or reduced-price lunch. Advanced Placement, dual enrollment and suspensions are federal CRDC 2023–24. WVDE's chronic-absence figure is withheld until its definition is confirmed. Charters and the two state-operated agencies levy no tax and are not in the county salary and budget reports; their pages say so. Withheld figures do not mean zero.

NCES LEAID
5400511
Directory source period
2024-2025
Agency type in directory source year (official_reported, 2024-2025)
State operated agency. NCES agency classification for the directory source year; not a determination of tax or filing eligibility.
Operating status in directory source year (official_reported, 2024-2025)
Open. NCES operational status in the directory source year, not a current operating-status certification.
Proposed budget line items (not reported for this district)
WVEIS's proposed-budget report (SF000001) covers the 55 county boards and the educational service cooperatives only; it has no row for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition, a state-operated school agency.
School property tax (not reported for this district)
West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition is a state-operated school agency and levies no property tax: in West Virginia only the 55 county boards of education levy school taxes (the State Auditor's levy table lists none for it). It is funded by the State.
Staff and salaries (not reported for this district)
WVDE's Office of School Finance salary workbooks (teachers, principals, superintendents) and the WVEIS certified list of personnel report the 55 county boards only; none has a row for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition.
Budget and fund balance (not reported for this district)
WVEIS's proposed-budget report, the source of fund balance here, has no row for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition.
School pages (not reported for this district)
NCES CCD 2024-25 lists the WV Schools of Diversion & Transition with 0 operational schools and none of its 24 sites (juvenile, residential and diversion programs, and its Middle College), so no site has an exact NCES row and none has a school page. Its enrolment and results are on this page.
Advanced Placement and dual enrollment (federal CRDC) (not reported for this district)
The federal CRDC 2023-24 has no school of the WV Schools of Diversion & Transition (NCES lists none), so it reports no Advanced Placement or dual enrollment for it.
Enrollment and student groups (not reported for this district)
WVDE's SY25 and SY26 enrollment workbooks, its Percent Needy report and its assessment files have no row for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition or any of its sites: only its school directory lists them.
Attendance and discipline (not reported for this district)
Neither WVDE's scorecard nor the federal CRDC 2023-24 reports a count for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition.
Assessment and graduation results (not reported for this district)
WVDE's SY25 and SY26 assessment files and its graduation files have no published result for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition.
Multi-year trends (not reported for this district)
No WVDE or federal file publishes a figure for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition, so there is no series to trend.
Comparisons with other districts (not reported for this district)
No WVDE or federal file publishes a district figure for West Virginia Schools of Diversion & Transition, so there is nothing to compare.

Sources

Explore West Virginia

Browse