Surry County Schools

Explore North Carolina school districts, charter LEAs, city units and state-operated agencies with source-linked North Carolina Department of Public Instruction (NCDPI), North Carolina Department of Revenue (NCDOR) and NCES records. Directory identities are from NCES 2024–25, not a current operating-status certification. Each published figure keeps its own label, scope and reporting period. Withheld figures do not mean zero. A county property-tax rate is county context, not a school-district tax. North Carolina open-data downloads are held and are not published here.

NCES LEAID
3704410
Directory source period
2024-2025
Agency type in directory source year (official_reported, 2024-2025)
Regular public school district that is not a component of a supervisory union. NCES agency classification in the 2024-25 directory; not a determination of tax or filing eligibility.
Operating status in directory source year (official_reported, 2024-2025)
Open. NCES operational status in the 2024-25 directory, not a current operating-status certification.
average daily membership (official_reported, 2024-2025)
7,062 students. NCDPI School Report Card final average daily membership for 2024-25. NCDPI cautions that the transition to a new student information system may have produced higher-than-expected 2024-25 counts.
Assault on school officials, employees, or volunteers — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
16 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Assault resulting in serious personal injury — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
2 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Assault involving use of a weapon — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Willfully burning a school building — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Bomb threats or bomb hoaxes — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Homicide — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Taking indecent liberties with a minor — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Kidnapping — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Underage alcohol possession, sale, provision, or consumption — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
7 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Possession of a firearm — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Possession of a controlled substance in violation of law — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
92 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Possession of a weapon — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
14 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Rape — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Robbery involving use of a weapon — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Sexual assault (not involving rape or sexual offense) — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Sexual offense — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
0 acts. District; reported act count. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Total reported acts per 1,000 students — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
18.396293 events per 1,000 students. District; computed from the reported count and the source Final ADM.
Total reported acts — reported to NCDPI (Consolidated Data Report, 2022-23) (2022-2023)
131 acts. District; total reported acts. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Students in chronic-absence denominator (2024-2025)
7,401 students. NCDPI School Report Card chronic absence, all students, 2024-25: students counted as chronically absent under the NCDPI definition stated in the SRC data dictionary (rcd_chronic_absent), linked in this page’s documents.
Chronically absent students (2024-2025)
18%. NCDPI School Report Card chronic absence, all students, 2024-25: students counted as chronically absent under the NCDPI definition stated in the SRC data dictionary (rcd_chronic_absent), linked in this page’s documents.
Chronically absent students (2024-2025)
1,330 students. NCDPI School Report Card chronic absence, all students, 2024-25: students counted as chronically absent under the NCDPI definition stated in the SRC data dictionary (rcd_chronic_absent), linked in this page’s documents.
Reported criminal acts per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
18.1768 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
School-related arrests per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
0 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Reported bullying and harassment incidents per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
7.9868 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Expulsions per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
0 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
In-school suspensions per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
102.7265 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Long-term suspensions per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
0.2754 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Referrals to law enforcement per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
22.8587 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Short-term suspensions per 1,000 students — reported in NCDPI School Report Card data (2024-2025)
102.4511 events per 1,000 students. District; all students. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
COVID-related expenditures (state and federal COVID program codes), fiscal year (2023-2024)
$6,503,513.79. NCDPI PSU YTD COVID-related expenditures for FY 2023-24, from the workbook's state and federal COVID PRCs (including ESSER and other relief programs); local expenditures are excluded. This is a YTD amount for the named fiscal year, not all-funds district spending.
COVID-related expenditures (state and federal COVID program codes), fiscal year (2022-2023)
$6,138,255.61. NCDPI PSU YTD COVID-related expenditures for FY 2022-23, from the workbook's state and federal COVID PRCs (including ESSER and other relief programs); local expenditures are excluded. This is a YTD amount for the named fiscal year, not all-funds district spending.
COVID-related expenditures (state and federal COVID program codes), fiscal year (2021-2022)
$12,213,610.66. NCDPI PSU YTD COVID-related expenditures for FY 2021-22, from the workbook's state and federal COVID PRCs (including ESSER and other relief programs); local expenditures are excluded. This is a YTD amount for the named fiscal year, not all-funds district spending.
COVID-related expenditures (state and federal COVID program codes), fiscal year (2020-2021)
$3,906,489.40. NCDPI PSU YTD COVID-related expenditures for FY 2020-21, from the workbook's state and federal COVID PRCs (including ESSER and other relief programs); local expenditures are excluded. This is a YTD amount for the named fiscal year, not all-funds district spending.
COVID-related expenditures (state and federal COVID program codes), fiscal year (2019-2020)
$300,238. NCDPI PSU YTD COVID-related expenditures for FY 2019-20, from the workbook's state and federal COVID PRCs (including ESSER and other relief programs); local expenditures are excluded. This is a YTD amount for the named fiscal year, not all-funds district spending.
Capital outlay (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$7,828,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 capital outlay, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Current elementary-secondary spending (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$91,628,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 current spending for elementary-secondary education, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Current spending per pupil (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$12,463. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 current elementary-secondary spending divided by V33 fall membership. The denominator is F-33 fall membership, not ADM. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Total expenditure (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$101,375,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 total expenditure, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Total expenditure per pupil (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$13,788.76. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 total expenditure divided by V33 fall membership. The denominator is F-33 fall membership, not ADM. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Per-pupil expenditure — federal funding source (NCDPI SRC) (2024-2025)
$1,831.13. NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card rcd_funds2 TOTAL row: per-pupil expenditure by federal-level funding source, with ADM as the source denominator; joined from the source's LEA-level row 860LEA. This is the SRC/ESSA expenditure definition, not F-33 total spending.
Per-pupil expenditure — local funding source (NCDPI SRC) (2024-2025)
$1,981.75. NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card rcd_funds2 TOTAL row: per-pupil expenditure by local-level funding source, with ADM as the source denominator; joined from the source's LEA-level row 860LEA. This is the SRC/ESSA expenditure definition, not F-33 total spending.
Per-pupil expenditure — state funding source (NCDPI SRC) (2024-2025)
$8,794.84. NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card rcd_funds2 TOTAL row: per-pupil expenditure by state-level funding source, with ADM as the source denominator; joined from the source's LEA-level row 860LEA. This is the SRC/ESSA expenditure definition, not F-33 total spending.
Per-pupil expenditure — all funding sources (NCDPI SRC) (2024-2025)
$12,607.72. NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card rcd_funds2 TOTAL row: per-pupil expenditure across all funding sources, with ADM as the source denominator; joined from the source's LEA-level row 860LEA. This is the SRC/ESSA expenditure definition, not F-33 total spending.
Interest on school-system debt (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$874,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 interest on school-system debt, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
County appropriation to the LEA (2024-2025)
$9,712,620. District; current-expense county appropriation. Source period: Statistical Profile year 2025.
County appropriation to the LEA per pupil (2024-2025)
$1,375 per pupil. District; current-expense county appropriation. Source period: Statistical Profile year 2025.
county property tax rate (NCDOR, FY 2026-27) (2026-2027)
0.513 dollars per $100 assessed value. County context for Surry County; this is not a school-district property tax rate. Source period: FY 2026-27.
Estimated annual per-pupil local current expense (2025-2026)
$1,330 per pupil. District; survey amount for information only; source says no audit or verification was performed. Source period: FY 2025-26 (estimated).
Federal revenue (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$19,413,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 revenue from federal sources, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Federal share of F-33 revenue (2023-2024)
18.85%. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 TFEDREV revenue divided by TOTALREV total revenue; a funding-source share of the federal survey total. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Local revenue (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$15,933,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 revenue from local sources, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Local share of F-33 revenue (2023-2024)
15.47%. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 TLOCREV revenue divided by TOTALREV total revenue; a funding-source share of the federal survey total. Source period: FY 2023-24.
State revenue (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$67,625,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 revenue from state sources, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
State share of F-33 revenue (2023-2024)
65.67%. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 TSTREV revenue divided by TOTALREV total revenue; a funding-source share of the federal survey total. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Total revenue (NCES F-33) (2023-2024)
$102,971,000. NCES F-33 fiscal year 2024 total revenue, reported for this school system in dollars. This is the federal F-33 definition, not a North Carolina budget label. Source period: FY 2023-24.
Four-year graduation cohort (2024-2025)
649 students. NCDPI four-year cohort graduation rate (STD code), all students, 2024-25. Before 2023-24 some schools could use a five-year expectation under STD; this current-year figure follows the dictionary's four-year definition.
Four-year cohort graduation rate (2024-2025)
94.6%. NCDPI four-year cohort graduation rate (STD code), all students, 2024-25. Before 2023-24 some schools could use a five-year expectation under STD; this current-year figure follows the dictionary's four-year definition.
Graduates recorded as enrolled in college (2023-2024)
295 students. NCDPI School Report Card College Enrollment table, report year 2025, graduation year 2024, all students: the source ENROLL row. The file does not state a time window in the pinned dictionary, so none is inferred. Source period: 2024 graduation class.
Graduates recorded as enrolled in college (2023-2024)
54.2%. NCDPI School Report Card College Enrollment table, report year 2025, graduation year 2024, all students: the source ENROLL row. The file does not state a time window in the pinned dictionary, so none is inferred. Source period: 2024 graduation class.
English learner progress denominator (2024-2025)
731 students. NCDPI English Learner Progress indicator, all students in the indicator denominator: the percentage of English learners making progress on the annual ACCESS evaluation.
English learners making progress on ACCESS (2024-2025)
40.1%. NCDPI English Learner Progress indicator, all students in the indicator denominator: the percentage of English learners making progress on the annual ACCESS evaluation.
AP exam participation rate (2024-2025)
3.9%. NCDPI School Report Card, Advanced Placement 2024-25: the AP exam participation percentage as published by NCDPI.
AP exams scored 3 or above (2024-2025)
84.4%. NCDPI School Report Card, Advanced Placement 2024-25: the percentage of AP exam scores at the passing threshold named in the label, as published by NCDPI.
CTE credentials earned (2024-2025)
2,650 credentials. NCDPI School Report Card 2024-25 number of CTE credentials earned. It counts credentials, not students and not completed pathways.
average local salary supplement (teachers) (2025-2026)
$3,808. District; teacher local-supplement statistics; as reported by NCDPI; the table does not state the averaging base. Source period: Statistical Profile year 2026.
National Board-certified teachers (2024-2025)
52 teachers. District; all source categories. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
National Board-certified teachers (2024-2025)
10.66%. District; share of teachers. Source period: SY 2024-25. Reported at the district level in the cited official source.
Staff with growth scores rated Effective (2024-2025)
261 staff. District; staff with growth scores. Source period: SY 2024-25.
Staff with growth scores rated Effective (2024-2025)
56.62%. District; staff with growth scores. Source period: SY 2024-25.
Staff with growth scores rated Highly Effective (2024-2025)
150 staff. District; staff with growth scores. Source period: SY 2024-25.
Staff with growth scores rated Highly Effective (2024-2025)
32.54%. District; staff with growth scores. Source period: SY 2024-25.
Staff with growth scores rated Needs Improvement (2024-2025)
50 staff. District; staff with growth scores. Source period: SY 2024-25.
Staff with growth scores rated Needs Improvement (2024-2025)
10.85%. District; staff with growth scores. Source period: SY 2024-25.
Teacher positions (2025-2026)
521 positions. District; teacher local-supplement statistics. Source period: Statistical Profile year 2026.
Teacher positions receiving a local salary supplement (2025-2026)
521 positions. District; teacher local-supplement statistics. Source period: Statistical Profile year 2026.
Teachers with a graduate certificate (2025-2026)
24.2%. District; selected teacher characteristics. Source period: Statistical Profile year 2026.
Teachers with no prior teaching experience (2025-2026)
5%. District; selected teacher characteristics. Source period: Statistical Profile year 2026.
Final average daily membership (2024-2025)
7,062 students. NCDPI School Report Card final average daily membership for 2024-25. NCDPI cautions that the transition to a new student information system may have produced higher-than-expected 2024-25 counts.
Economically disadvantaged students (2025-2026)
55.3%. NCDPI Economically Disadvantaged Students, APR 2026 collection. The percentage is NCDPI's share of students classified as economically disadvantaged; the denominator is the workbook's total number of students in the school or PSU. No EDS count is inferred from the rounded percentage. Source period: April 2026.
Students in the EDS collection denominator (2025-2026)
7,093 students. NCDPI Economically Disadvantaged Students, APR 2026 collection. The percentage is NCDPI's share of students classified as economically disadvantaged; the denominator is the workbook's total number of students in the school or PSU. No EDS count is inferred from the rounded percentage. Source period: April 2026.
NC line item NC-SPSF-25: State-funded expenditures (State Public School Fund) (2024-2025; Surry County Schools)
Total: $61,616,855.23. Reported subtotal; includes underlying items.
NC line item NC-SPSF-26: State-funded expenditures (State Public School Fund) (2025-2026; Surry County Schools)
Total: $61,086,632.97. Reported subtotal; includes underlying items.
Grade-level proficient (GLP): Academically Gifted (withheld: agency suppressed)
NCDPI suppresses this disaggregated percentage with a threshold marker, a dash or a blank source cell; it is withheld here, not converted to a boundary value or zero. NCDPI Disaggregated Performance Data 2024–2025, all subjects, all grades and all assessment types, Academically Gifted. The in-archive PDF Disag_2024-25_Description.pdf states: “Grade Level Proficiency (GLP) is defined as Achievement Level 3 and above.”.
ACT All Subtest Composite indicator (not collected in NC)
The SRC data dictionary does not define what this percentage measures, so the indicator and its denominator are not published.
NCDPI SBS DART allotment and ADM columns (not collected in NC)
The source workbook does not state which allotment or fiscal-year convention its 2017–2024 columns use, so its figures are not published.
Educator effectiveness measures (not collected in NC)
The latest year of this measure in the NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card data set is SY 2017-18, so it is not published as current.
Teacher experience measures (not collected in NC)
The latest year of this measure in the NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card data set is SY 2017-18, so it is not published as current.
School incident-rate measures (not collected in NC)
The latest year of this measure in the NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card data set is SY 2016-17, so it is not published as current.
Teacher licensure measures (not collected in NC)
The latest year of this measure in the NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card data set is SY 2017-18, so it is not published as current.
National Board-certified teacher measures (not collected in NC)
The latest year of this measure in the NCDPI 2024-25 School Report Card data set is SY 2017-18, so it is not published as current.

Sources

Schools in the NCES 2024–25 directory

Explore North Carolina

Browse